

National Association of Parliamentarians Educational Foundation COMMITTEE REPORT Date of Report: November 27, 2023

Name of Committee: Scholarship Committee

Committee Chairman and Members: Carol Habgood, PRP, Chairman; Members Lynna Gene Cook, PRP, and Mary Messerschmidt, PRP-R

Date of Last Meeting: Maintained email contact with committee members keeping them apprised of activities pertaining to scholarship committee; and to review the scholarship applications received

Date of Next Meeting: To be scheduled.

Projects Completed:

- 1. In October, sent updated article to NP editor about NAP Educational Foundation Scholarships available.
- 2. Selected two recipients for the Viola Brannen Memorial Scholarship: Lynna Gene Cook, PRP, Lincoln, Nebraska Dr. Todd Ellis, RP, Kalamazoo, Michigan
- 2. Selected one recipient for the NAPEF Scholarship:

Peter Klapes, Newton, Massachusetts.

- 3. Selected two recipients for the Alice Ragona Memorial Scholarship: Yara Kirkwood, Houston, Texas Hailey Steward, Virginia Beach, Virginia
- 4. Notified recipients, NAPEF president, NAP Executive Director, and NAPEF Public Relations Chairman on November 6, 2023, via email.
- 5. Fine-tuned application forms for the Alice Ragona Memorial Scholarship and the NAPEF Scholarship to provide for the applicants to select which scholarship they are applying for: payment of dues, or reimbursement of fees.
- 6. No applications received for the Student Intern Scholarship.

Proposed Action Items (motions): The Scholarship Committee recommends discontinuing the Student Intern Scholarship as there has been no interest in this scholarship since it was established.

Other information: None